top of page

The Hate U Give


This summer, I stumbled upon an amazing book by Angie Thomas that reminded me that I love to read: The Hate U Give. I don't remember how I heard of it, or why I wanted to read it. I just knew that it sounded interesting, and that the library's wait list was extremely long. I finally got my hands on a copy, and started sobbing once I got to Chapter 2. I could not believe the intensity of the emotions I felt as I read this book, which reflected the realities that young black people go through in this country. I read the chapter over the phone to my significant other, who lives in Germany. I recommended this book to my sister, my brother, his friends, and my friends. I also posted a DonorsChoose project, requesting a class set of this book for my students. When I posted the project, I had no idea what classes I would be teaching, but I was determined to find a way to integrate it into my curriculum.

This book changed the game for me, and got me hooked on reading once again. I had been an avid reader as a high school student, but college, work, grad school, and working in school administration sucked all my time and energy. Now, I'm reconnecting with my roots, reading like there's no tomorrow!

bottom of page