top of page

NCSS - So Many Books, So Little Space!


I was fortunate to go to the National Council of Social Studies conference in San Francisco this weekend. I did not step into the vendor area until Saturday afternoon, and it was such a difficult experience to be surrounded by so many free and low-cost books knowing full well that I'd have to be extremely selective about what I took home. I only had a carryon bag with me, and I was flying directly from San Francisco to Germany. I took pictures of titles that I could not carry with me, making a mental note to get them later.

I did take a signed copy of STEP RIGHT UP, which tells the inspiring story of an African American man who taught others that you could train animals with kindness rather than cruelty. I also got a $5 copy of THE 57 BUS, which I kept hearing buzz about at the conference. I'm super excited about complimentary copies of Trevor Noah's BORN A CRIME and Timothy Snyder's ON TYRANNY (which I've seen some government teachers refer to on social media). Being back on the literary circuit is so exciting!

It was great to see how many literary connections can be made in the social studies classroom. I'm excited to continue to learn more about current books that are out there, so that I can integrate them into my classes!

bottom of page