top of page

Review: Dear Martin


Everyone needs to read DEAR MARTIN by Nic Stone now! The book masterfully touches on so many nuances of being an overachieving person of color navigating two worlds. There were three points in the book where I needed to take an emotional break, as the events the protagonist were dealing with were DEEP When I finished the book, I thought about what I had access to as a young kid: Ramona Quimby, Sweet Valley High, Judy Blume books, Babysitter’s Club - all fun reads... but it would’ve been much more empowering to have books that mirrored what I was going through, as a low income youth of color. I’m curious about how my life would have been different, had I been able to see characters like me, dealing with microaggressions, developing empowered identities, and finding their political voice. Today’s youth are lucky - they can see themselves in all sorts of young adult fiction, and I thank all these breakout authors for that wonderful gift!

This is the best book I've read this year - it's short, never boring, heart-breaking and thought-provoking! FIVE STARS!

bottom of page