top of page

WORLD PREMIERE: A Wrinkle in Time


I've had a string of good luck lately. Most recently, I entered a contest through First Book, in which I had to write why attending A WRINKLE IN TIME would be a meaningful experience.

I wrote about the power of seeing a girl of color as a hero, which was an experience that I did not grow up with. I wrote about Ava DuVernay being a real life hero to me, who amplifies the talents of people of color, and tells stories that have historically been unheard.

I received a phone call that I had been selected, and I started jumping and dancing around, much to the amusement of my 6th period students walking into my classroom. I invited my mother, who had no idea we were going to a WORLD PREMIERE until she saw the blue carpet and OPRAH!!

This was a truly unforgettable, star-studded experience that was full of BLACK GIRL MAGIC.

bottom of page