top of page

Review: The Last Black Unicorn


This book has been on my "To Be Read" list for a while, but the library's waiting list was months long! I was so excited to finally get my hands on it!

I read this book expecting to be amused, but it was actually painfully sad. I was a fan of Tiffany Haddish’s comedic timing and personality before reading this, and after reading her book I have an even greater sense of awe and respect for her. She has paved her own path to success, despite painful and sometimes tragic life circumstances.

This book is a collection of anecdotes that I wish I could introduce to my students (to inspire them to keep dreaming even when life gets hard). I'm not sure I could get away with the language, though...

The short vignettes sometimes feel a little random, as they sometimes seemed unrelated to each other. Nevertheless, the book gives you snapshots of Tiffany Haddish's life, and I walked away an even bigger fan of hers.

Note to readers: One of my friends listened to this on audiobook and recommended that others experience THE LAST BLACK UNICORN with Tiffany Haddish's voice in your head, as the stories become even funnier.

bottom of page