top of page

YALLWEST Recap!


This weekend, thousands of people descended upon Santa Monica High School, lining up around the block in order to attend the most amazing YA event in Los Angeles: YALLWEST!

This was my first YALLWEST, and I read various tweets and blog posts in order to prepare for my experience. My sister came with me, which was strategic. The schedule is so packed with panels and giveaways, that it's impossible to be in multiple places at once! I typed a schedule for myself, on Excel, listing the time, location, and details of the panels and giveaways I hoped to attend. I was able to accomplish most of my goals, thanks to my sister's help!

At certain points, I disregarded my schedule in order to eat (important!) and attend other events that had not previously noticed (like trivia with authors at the Penguin tent). I LOVE trivia, and trivia with authors is even better! Penguin arranged for various authors to lead teams, and I partnered up with Julie Dao and various knowledgeable young women who carried our team to victory! We received a swag bag with a pillowcase, blanket, and various other cute items for book lovers.

I attended panels with some of my favorite authors of color, including Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, Lilliam Rivera, and Tomi Adeyemi. I didn't wait in line for any of the signings, and didn't get to meet Becky Albertalli, but I'm hoping to catch her on tour for WHAT IF IT'S US.

All in all, it was an amazing event, and I can't wait for next year! The only thing I'll do differently is arrive even earlier, so that I can be at the front of the line when the gates open! I arrived half an hour early, and was allowed to enter 30 minutes after the festival began. By that point, one of the ARCs I wanted was gone, and the frenzy was in full force!


bottom of page