top of page

World Tour 2018: World Cup Edition! Viva Mexico! LOOSE WOMAN


It's Mexico's first 2018 World Cup game, everyone! If you don't understand the big deal or the passion surrounding this international event, please know that it is MORE than just a game! Winning is about pride, dignity, and an opportunity to carry our heads high (especially at a time when the rights of people of color are being trampled).

To get into the spirit, I read LOOSE WOMAN, a collection of poems by Mexican American author Sandra Cisneros. She took me on tequila infused escapades across continents and bedrooms, introducing me to lovers that ignited passion, fire, anger, and loss.

It was a perfect read prior to today's game, reminding me of the beauty within my culture and the intense way in which we love.

"Quiero ser tuya. Only yours. Only you.

Quiero amarte. Atarte. Amarrarte.

Love the way a Mexican woman loves. Let

me show you. Love the only way I know how."

- You Bring out the Mexican in Me

(World Cup Game 1 recap: I was the only Mexican in this German Biergarten! We beat Germany! Memo Ochoa, our goalie, is the only wall Mexico needs! You'll also note that my nail color changed, to represent the colors of Mexico's flag. White base with red and green polka dots. Viva Mexico!)

bottom of page