top of page

Review: PIECING ME TOGETHER


I'm embarrassed to admit that this book sat on my shelf for months, waiting to be picked up. I decided to finally read it this month, as it was one of the novels our school had assigned our students for summer reading. I could not believe it took me so long to read it, as it was one of the best books I've read all year! It's smart, moving, and worthy of all the awards and recognition it has received.

Beautifully written, and so relatable for people who grew up like me: low income people of color who want to be seen for everything they are, rather than what people think they need! I’m pretty sure I highlighted more quotes in this book than any other I’ve ever read. This book is complex, dealing with race, class, gender, body image in a deep and nuanced manner. I appreciated that the author portrayed class differences within racial groups that can also lead to stereotypes and misunderstandings. It’s hard to explain what it feels like to read your own life, your dreams, and your frustrations written out on each page. I guess you feel finally seen.


bottom of page